waiting

20Aug08

I’m sitting in a local restaurant, Willow, waiting for my friends to arrive.

I had an interesting thought today while walking to my house from the metro. Well, maybe not interesting, but a thought.

The weather is perfectly warm with a cool breeze. I love walking in weather like this. I had been reading a book on the train, and I continued holding it as I made my way home. One of my old roommates gave me this silly bookmark, with a picture of “High School Musical” on the front and a yellow tassle hanging off the top. It bounced playfully as I walked home.

It reminded me of being a kid, joyful and innocent, with a desire to read everything and anything to learn a little more about the world around me.

Funny. The book I’m reading is about a military wife living through a deployment. Except for the wife and kids part, I’m living it, too. On my own, living email to email.

Suddenly, I didn’t feel as young and carefree as I had just a moment ago.

An interesting contrast in emotions.

No Responses Yet to “waiting”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

