meme: the first

21Jul08

i’ve been blogging [in some form or another] for over eight years, and i still never tire of the occasional meme.

1. What was I doing 10 years ago

that would be july 21, 1998 . . . well, i was between my junior and senior years in high school. this was the summer i worked at a g-d awful summer camp and cried at work every single day. i was forced into being a bus counselor, and had to take care of a five year old girl who got bus sick every time she rode the bus (and caused most of my crying). did i mention i got [officially] paid $200 for the entire summer? the best part about this job – the tips. i made almost five times that in tips, thanks to the parents with disposable income. and those tips bought me my beloved doc martins.

on a good note, this was my first year in a real musical, and i loved every second of it. we did How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, and i somehow ended up one of the dancers in the chorus. my only experience dancing had been in the musical review we did that year in HS (the first musical anything my school ever put on) and a few classes when i was four. who knew that my new found love for the stage then would lead me in the directions i’m heading today with choir and Revels.

2. What are 5 things on my to-do list

my work to-do list is longer than five, so i’ll go with the list for home.

  1. re-pot all three of my plants
  2. clean my bathroom
  3. do some laundry
  4. clean my floor/closet
  5. make a list of all the things i need to do

3. Snacks I enjoy

tortilla chips and salsa, popcorn, pretzels, trail mix (minus the peanuts), cheerios (multi-grain, honey-nut, or apple cinnamon, please). oh, and cakelove cupcakes. those happen maybe once a year, and it’s so worth every bite.

4. Things I would do if I was a billionare

not buy stocks, for one. or put it in an american bank. [ugh, the economy.] honestly, i’d donate a bunch over the years to a cause (to be determined at a later date) that would have real impact on immediate lives. like an adoption agency. or a soup kitchen. or a school. cancer research is great, but i would rather help people who need help right now to get back on their feet, not put money into research that may or may not help people in years.

i’d also keep enough to make sure i can buy a home (maybe an awesome condo in a loft somewhere? or a townhouse with a nice patio?), pay for college for possible children, and work as a photojournalist and musician/singer to cover the daily incidentals like food and clothes.

is that too far fetched?

5. Places I’ve lived

  • Bloomfield, NJ
  • Washington Twp, NJ
  • York, PA
  • Weehawken, NJ
  • Alexandria, VA
  • Arlington, VA

6. Jobs I’ve had

  • birthday party hostess (first job at age 12)
  • babysitter
  • office help (mainly, labeling. lots and lots of labeling. hey, it was before we had printers capable of printing directly on mailers.)
  • camp counselor
  • lifeguard
  • temp at a publishing house as an editorial assistant
  • temp at a worldwide financial firm as a filing and typing guru (looking at all the invoices of money other countries owed us was fascinating!
  • photographer and graphic designer at a gift box corporation
  • graphic designer at a startup ad agency (and the reason i will never work at one again)
  • marketing assistant / photographer / assistant to the ceo of a luxury spa company
  • freelance photographer for my hometown newspaper (my favorite job yet)
  • graphic designer / art director of a teeny tiny design firm
  • freelance photographer of . . . well, random stuff.
  • marketing coordinator at an architecture firm (where i’m sitting right now)

am i missing anything?

7 Bloggers I’m tagging.

the first seven of you to read this. (which really could be everyone who reads it. but hey, if you want to go for it, go for it!)

No Responses Yet to “meme: the first”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

